Wheel & Tire Everything about tires and wheels.

tires on tarmac II

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2004, 10:58 AM

tires on tarmac II

what kind of tires do you guys recommend on a 17" tarmac II. I do mostly dry road driving but when it rains, it pours and the road is terrible. but this is mostly in winter. I am mostly in the sac/davis area or the frisco area. any recommendations on tires? thanks.
Old 08-23-2004, 02:31 PM
ish

Car Info: 2009 wrx & 2000 4runner
bridgestone s-03s
Old 08-23-2004, 03:17 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: Corvette Z51
What price range are we looking at here?
Old 08-24-2004, 10:58 AM

something reasonable and not too luxury. im still a college student.
Old 08-25-2004, 11:10 AM
VIP Member

Car Info: Corvette Z51
^^^
I'm hesitant about Kumho's. Not to rag on your recommendation, but from what I've heard here on the boards and from chats at meets, the overall build quality of Kumho's is very inconsitent. Some sets have been so well made as to rival S03's (in some people's opinions), while other sets have had their tread separate from their sidewall while in operation.

As such, I recommend the Falken FK451 for something that is more suited to all types of weather and roads. If you want excellent dry performance and are not too concerned with wet grip, Falken Azenis ST115's are a good choice. For near R compound tires but at the sacrifice of almost zero wet weather performance, the Falken Azenis Sports are a good choice. Most of these models are fairly economical and are overall a good value. The Yokohmama AVS ES100 and the AVS dB are good tires as well from what I've heard.