Suspension, Handling, and Brakes Talk about Struts/springs, coilovers, anti-swaybars, strut bars, steering, Pads, fluid, lines, rotors, calipers, boosters, and anything that is brake and suspension related.

Painting Calipers... Is this hard?

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2003, 10:02 PM

Car Info: TXS tbe, perrin goodies, v7 sti struts...bla bla bla lots of stuff!
Arrow Painting Calipers... Is this hard?

I think I am going to pick up a can of this caliper paint.. I have seen it on fastwrx for around $38 or so... I have a sonic yellow rex and was thinking maybe red or yellow... (I don't think the yellow in the can will match my yellow (street line paint) car)

Is this hard to do? Meaning once I take the wheel off do I need air tools and things of that nature? If not I am fairly confident that I can do it... but if I need air tools and completely take everything off like brakes, pads, etc. Then forget it. I am no mechanic, and knowing me I would f it up. It took me an hour to take the snorkleous off my car, lol.

For people that have done this, does it last? Will it have to be redone, and is there anything you have to do afterwards to keep it looking good?

http://www.tirerack.com/brakes/g2/caliper_paint.jsp

That's what I was going to get.

Thanks guys :-)

-Nigel
Old 08-03-2003, 10:35 AM

Car Info: 98 Impreza RS
I just did mine about a month ago. Well one side, i haven't had the time to do the other yet. I wouldn't buy that expensive paint unless you are just set on it. I picked up a can at the local autozone and it worked perfectly, the only thing you have to look for is heat resistance. Also, make sure the paint doesn't require baking. The kind i got was specifically for calipers.