Suby Shopping & Maintenance/Warranty Buying a Subaru? Buying, negotiating, financing, insurance, etc. Maintenance/Warranty topics can be discussed here too.

Urgent!! Urgent!! Please Asap

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2006, 10:19 AM

Car Info: '03 wagon
Urgent!! Urgent!! Please Asap

alright so i love the sooby so far, don't get me wrong.

I was, however, a little hasty to get one and because of this, I think I was had at the dealership and looking for someone with more expertise on these than a complete noob to not only wrx, but AWD cars, i mean...its bad.

nevertheless - after drivin around my 03 wagon with 51k miles, the CEL got thrown. Now this was the weekend I bought it. I was driving it easy and stopped to fill the tank. I know i turned till there were like 7 clicks because read the warning on the cap of not tightening enough. Even after 4 trips after that it never turned off. (heard it took only 2) Took it in this monday to get looked at, and after 2 hours and me coming out to talk to THEM to see what was up, they tell me that there's aftermarket stuff in the car.

Now I bought it without any of this in mind, thinking it was required by law for them to post any modifications to the car, which of were none!! That in mind, he proceeds to inform me that the light was thrown, and the clutch shudder i was feeling while downshifting and driving in reverse and the CEL were all related - no cat because of the custom exhaust! he then said I could "put some black tape over the light if it gets annoying" rediculous huh?

So this whole time while getting more angry, I keep thinkin I got scammed because I didn't know any of this, and emmissions are completely required in WA. Now my battle with even getting them on the phone to talk to me now is a different issue - what I really want advice on, besides all the stuff up above, is they're telling me that there are still 2 catalytic converters in there, which I doubt?!