Franco's copyright issue with Speed Infinity.

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2003, 03:15 PM
Val
VIP Member

Franco's copyright issue with Speed Infinity.

Franco,

Why don't you just ask me for advice? Remember I work in the intellectual property field?
Old 02-18-2003, 03:18 PM
Val
VIP Member

Here's your question:

Just a question. In the Feb. issue of Speed Infinity, Mac Car motorsports are using a picture of my MR2 spyder in their ad. Is their anything I can do about it?
Old 02-18-2003, 03:23 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: 2013 Toyota Prius Plug In 2011 Toyota Prius
For some reason I always thought you worked for a web company that cracks down on **** viewing for big corporations.

What can I do about this?
Old 02-18-2003, 03:29 PM
Val
VIP Member

Your answer:

Speedoptions and the photographer who took the picture are the sole copyright owners of that photograph. According to Title 17 of United States copyright law, any reproduction of unauthorized use or transmission of said property is in violation of US copyright law without first obtaining permission or knowledge from the owner.

Basically to sum things up, you can go to court, and since you have proof that it is indeed a speedoptions photgraph, you can take the guy to court and win big dollars. However, you will be forking up $$$ (50gs) to hire a copyright attorney only to have the case go on for years and years. Most judges won't even try the case, because they have real copyright issues to defend, such as companies like (Disney) which own tons of copyrights. If I were you, I'd right a cease and desist letter explaining your rights, and if he/she does not oblige, than you have every right to go after them, because they lost their safe harbor.

Val

Last edited by Val; 02-18-2003 at 03:33 PM.
Old 02-18-2003, 03:30 PM
Val
VIP Member

Originally posted by LifePlaza
For some reason I always thought you worked for a web company that cracks down on **** viewing for big corporations.

What can I do about this?