Interior, Exterior & Lighting Bodykits, wings, seats, performance gauges, interior and exterior lighting.

Waxing

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2005, 08:33 PM

Car Info: wrx
Waxing

i admit im pretty new to exterior care. but the car im waxing im pretty sure its never been waxed in its life. right now i just washed the car, soap, washdown, the usual. now the car feels like a dish that just came out of the dishwaser, kinda squeeky clean.
i was wondering what those squirl marks are. im pretty sure the previous owner did that from unproper care. i think its the clear coat or something. i just gave it a 1 layer wax on one section and it helped just a little bit. but is there something i can get rid of those swirl marks?
-ps i got clay bar if thats what i need, and this car is 10months old
Old 10-27-2005, 08:34 AM

Car Info: 03 WRX / 08 Forester
Claybar will not remove scratches/swirls. It is used to remove surface contaminates and is a useful tool in preparing your paint before polishing/waxing.

With wax, you are merely covering the imperfections. ......some products actually do this quite well (i.e. Z-5 polish from Zaino). However, if your goal is to "remove" those ugly swirls/scratches, you will need to use something more aggressive. .....this is where things can get ugly if you don't do it right or if you use the wrong products/tools. I would strongly suggest you read the articles contained on the following website:

www.autopia.org

You will need some insight before you can evaluate your situation and determine a course of action.

btw, you may also want to consider the services of a professional detailer. Nothing compares to the result you can achieve with the proper products and equipment. I broke down a long time ago and purchased a dual-action polisher (Porter Cable). Coupled with the Sonus pads I purchased online, I will never attempt polishing by hand again.
Old 10-27-2005, 08:38 AM

Car Info: 05 STi