Interior, Exterior & Lighting Bodykits, wings, seats, performance gauges, interior and exterior lighting.

Swapping brighter HIDs into my STi

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2005, 01:07 PM

Car Info: '13 BRZ - SWP
Swapping brighter HIDs into my STi

does anyone know the process? i'm a newb to this sh*t.

do i just swap the bulbs to higher than the 4000k (????) the STi are?

or is there more wiring/complication?

04 sti

thanks

sjice
Old 05-29-2005, 01:54 PM

Car Info: 05 STI
sjice,

It's a little more complicated than switching to new bulbs. The OEM 4100K bulb already produces the most light output. The higher the kelvin rating the less light output (lumens). However, the higher kelvin rating will give your lights the blue/purple color because the kelvin rating specifies the color of the light. If you want a more scientific explaination please go here: http://www.hidplanet.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=2080

So, if your goal is more light then the best option is a HID projector retro fit. You get either a single or bixenon HID projector from another car and put it into our housing. I was able to get some used 04 WRX headlights to try out this mod. Since our STi's already have HID you won't need a ballast and relay. Projector HIDs produce much more light onto the road than our stock reflector based HIDs. A separate pair of HID projectors will run you any where from $140 - $300 depending on the type and availability of the projector. I suggest looking around at www.HIDPPlanet.com/forums there is a wealth of information on that site and a classified section to get what you need for a full retro.

I'm currently in the process of do a retro to my STI. I've posted pics of my progress here: http://www.iwsti.com/forums/showthre...6&page=3&pp=25
You can see what kind of effort is necessary. I've actually decided to use another projector than the original ones I chose. So, I'm searching for a pair of the TL bixenons that are supposed to have amazing light output.