Rattling noise from front suspension

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2013, 11:42 AM

Car Info: 2005 WRX
Rattling noise from front suspension

I did a search on the various Subie forums and didn’t find anything conclusive; also, though I’m fairly comfortable with engine work, I know pretty much zero about suspension, so I have no background for this type of problem.

Anyhow, my car has around 66k miles on it and in the last few thousand miles I’ve noticed a rattling sound coming from the front of the car. It’s a rattling, clunking noise, like something loose, that I hear when I run over rough pavement. It doesn’t seem to be affecting the handling nor do I notice anything through the steering. It also seems to have gotten worse over time, but that could just be my imagination.

Based upon this simple description, is there something obvious that I should fix or look at? If not, what suspension components should I check and how would I know if I have a problem? Could any of these potential problems lead to sudden and/or catastrophic failure if not addressed? Thanks, as always, for your time and advice.
Old 07-24-2013, 12:09 PM

Car Info: GR.SEDAN
I had something like this on another car, took me forever to find - A hard fuel line had popped out of a clip on the firewall and was rattling when over rough pavement but of course it didn't look out of place when looking in the engine bay... though this won't be the answer you want, definitely finger trace all lines running from firewall to motor and anything along a body panel in the engine bay to see if it's come loose or missing a clip.

It's hard to diagnose w/o hearing it in person but does it sound like it's coming from a specific corner? is the rattle intermittent or constant at speed? does it sound like metal or plastic oscillating - and you mention clunking, does it clunk a few times in unison with the bumps you travel over?
Old 07-24-2013, 12:27 PM

Car Info: '12 FXT Touring