OT: Eve Online? Other MMOs?

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2006, 01:35 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: '04 WRX Wagon
OT: Eve Online? Other MMOs?

Does anyone play it? I do...if you play it let me know so I can come hunt you down!

www.eve-online.com

If not, what MMO do you play? I play BF2142 too.
Old 11-27-2006, 09:08 PM

I've been playing EVE for I think about 7 months now. I like it because you don't have to play all the time to advance. You DO have to "grind" for money to buy ships and equipment, but there are so many different ways to make money it's hard to get bored. I haven't really tried the PvP stuff yet, though I have been attacked by pirates a few times. Send an evemail to "Shayla Sha" with your name so I know what to write on the nosecone of my cruise missle.

WoW - was fun for a while, but in the end I got sick of it. I don't have the time or ambition to play enough to compete with the "hardcore" players. It's a bad sign when you have more fun playing an MMO solo than with other people.

EQII - tried it for a month, but just couldn't get into it. Kind of an ugly game too. A lot of brown was sacrificed in the making of this game. Shiny bump-mapped brown too. The class/skill system is interesting though. Combat was kinda fun too, as was the trade skill stuff (oddly enough).

EQ - played on and off for most of 5 years. It was a good game before about the 3rd expansion. Then the rules started changing so much it became more like work than a game. Sony gave all their inactive accounts a free month this year (May or June I think). I logged on for about 10 minutes. It in no way even resembles the game I used to love.

FFXI - when I moved here a bunch of my co-workers played. They got me to try it for a month. A month of my life I'll never get back. The jobs are a cool idea, and there are some other good parts, but the play is horrible. I've never paid to be that bored before.