New to Driving Manual

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2009, 02:47 AM

Car Info: 14 m235i
New to Driving Manual

What's up everyone, I'm new to driving a manual, and was wondering if you guys could chip in on the proper do's and don'ts of driving stick shift.

I'm not going to attempt traffic for a few more weeks. My question is, would bumper to bumper traffic consist of pressing/depressing the clutch. Is that what "riding the clutch" means?

One friend told me that adding gas while using the clutch will be the main reason why I burn out my clutch faster. But when I let the clutch go at the grab point it does move forward a little, so a little gas and I can move smoothly.

I guess I'm worried about killing my clutch too fast. I know it's expected for a new manual driver so any tips on lengthening the life of my clutch would be appreciated. :-)
Old 05-02-2009, 03:25 AM
banned

Car Info: 2004 STi
My suggestion to you.

Rent a 2 wheel drive manual car with insurance and learn with that. learning a all wheel drive manual is harder than 2wd.
Old 05-02-2009, 03:30 AM

Car Info: Slower than the guy with all the money :(
Wow! I think your best bet is to find a nice flat parking lot,and get a "feel" for the clutch.
Try letting it out without giving any gas,and try to get the car rolling that way.
Once you can do that with regularity,do it some more!!

"Riding" the clutch is when you keep your foot on the clutch as you coast in gear.
Pressing the clutch in and out is not necessarily a bad thing,you need to do that no matter what.

"Slipping" the clutch sounds like what your friend is talking about.That is when you hold a consistent rpm and slowly release the clutch pedal while trying to get the car rolling.
This will usually give you a nice burning smell,not good for clutch life!!