Cant hit peak boost anymore

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 12:17 AM

Car Info: '05 Legacy GT Wagon "Bro Tuned"
Cant hit peak boost anymore

thanks for the input folks on the other thread. This is my first turbo car that I have personally owned. So Im still learning. I know the boost is supposed to tapper off, not longer I can hit high boost. When I first got the pro-tune I would hit 19. somthing pounds. Now I cant get above 16lbs.

I've been told I may have to change out my waste gate. And my boost actuator. i dunno, hopefully I can learn more from your inputs.

I am looking at the boost actuator from AVO any other recemndations?
http://www.rallitek.com/avoboac.html

What about the waste gate?

thanks folks
Old 08-03-2007, 12:24 AM

Car Info: 04 XTi.............. Seats down..G's up
try tightening your wastegate but i would look at the last mod you did being the culperate. i mean if right after you installed the bov/bpv then it's probably not holding boost. try tightening it down or adding shims to tighten the spring. before you go messing with it though put your stock one back on and see if you can get to 19lbs. if so then the valve is bad, if not then try adj the wategate actuator and tightening it to try to hold more boost. just my $0.02
Old 08-03-2007, 12:30 AM

Car Info: 05 Aspen White STi 02 PSM Bugeye RIP
could be multiple things: leaky bov, small boost or possible exhaust (preturbo) leak, (most likely if its a leak its a boost leak.. not exhaust if your not hitting peak boost, however its not impossible), boost solenoid issues, or most likely wastegate woes.
Old 08-03-2007, 12:31 AM

it wasnt hitting 19 before I did the BOV. I figured since Im no-turbo genious the BOV might help. Im gonna try tighten the BOV screw, maybe I can get some input help tommrow at the "big meat." How do i tighten the waste gate and the acuator?
Old 08-03-2007, 12:37 AM

Car Info: 05 Aspen White STi 02 PSM Bugeye RIP