Boost Spike? CEL?

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2011, 03:31 AM

Car Info: my wife crazy with buying parts
Boost Spike? CEL?

OK OK so driving home from work and im doin 45 in 5th just cruisin. Speed limit increases to 60mph so i just decided to stay in gear and WOT to see how my car will accelerate now that I have fixed my exhaust leaks. So after a second or so of waiting my usualy boost kicks in. Mind you I have NO boost gauges so this is all seat of my pants. Anyways...boost kicks in and suddently a HUGE burst of power kicks in putting me back in my chair and rocketing me from 60-80 in a split second. I let off power and recreate it and same thing but threw a CEL this time. So I give her one more shot but down shift and rev match (unnecessary) to 2nd and hit boost and shift to third hit boost and no problems.
SO because I am a noob I am wanting to know is this called a BOOST SPIKE? If so then I will look around the fourms on how to fix and all but I just am trying to make sure im looking in the right direction.
Side note. I did tune with the car having exhaust leaks (no knowing at the time cause i was noobier than i am currently). I am assuming now that the leak is fixed my tune map is all jacked up

THANK FOR READING and responding in a non-*******/lesbian way
Old 09-21-2011, 03:40 AM

Car Info: VF39'd EWG bugeye/ 99' Miata
get a boost gauge and see if you are spiking
Old 09-21-2011, 04:29 AM

Car Info: 57 SM 04 STi, 04 Yamaha R6
needs more info. What's the CEL?
Old 09-21-2011, 08:20 AM

Car Info: LUMPY CGM 05 WRX
needs more info what are your mods????
Old 09-21-2011, 09:11 AM