General Tech / How To's / Installations Technical discussions about the USDM 2008+ WRX and WRX STi.

2008 WRX upgrade path suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2007, 04:36 PM

Car Info: 2008 WR Blue WRX
2008 WRX upgrade path suggestions

I'm new to being active in the forum (I have a 02 2.5rs) and I just bought a 2008 WRX and I'm looking to chart out an upgrade path. I'm new to import modification so bear with me if some of my questions are noobile... (and the 08 aftermarket is still sparse)

My current goal as I have 300 miles on this car and the waranty is still going to be in effect for some time is to make upgrades that more enhance the driving experiance of my ride than the performance. That being said any gains are always welcome, and no power losses are acceptable. I've got a deployment scheduled in the next 9 months so I'm going to wait until I get back to start serious performance mods, as I'll have the budget and then some and I'll be able to do some really nice things right.

I think the first thing on my chopping block will be a new cat back exhaust, the stock exhaust is far too quiet and uninspiring. I'm looking for something with a nice growl that enhances the sound of the turbo and generally makes the car more fun to drive.

A new "ram air" or "cold air" intake is something I also need an edjumacation on. I understand that a cold air intake before a turbo makes about as much sense as a screen door on a submarine but they do tend to make things sound better. Are there solutions that actually net a gain (be it small) suggestions? advice?

Now I've done a little reading and from what I gather an atmospheric blow off valve is only going to cause me problems. I love the sound (not when people go over the top with trumpeted bovs, but a nice curt pssh when letting of the gas) are there solutions that are net net, no gain, no loss, no problems? I'm willing to forget this because I've got better things to spend my money on really.