Engine/Power - non turbo (All non turbo Imprezas) Who needs a turbo when you have 2500cc? Cams, intakes, exhausts, etc. The 2.2L and 1.8L Subies are cool too.

Engine Stall in neutral while on incline and at traffic light.

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2006, 07:16 PM

Car Info: Subaru
Question Engine Stall in neutral while on incline and at traffic light.

My 2002 TS wagon has been having some trouble lately and I wanted to get some opinions here first before bringing it into the shop. I live in San Jose and don't want to bring it to Steven's Creek, so if anybody can recommend a good shop here in San Jo it would be much appreciated as I am new to Subaru's.

With that said, my problem is that the CEL has been coming on lately after driving for awhile on the freeway at speeds ranging from 65-70. Nearly as soon as I get off the freeway the CEL comes on and then the car will drop to nearly 0 RPM when in neutral, but has never completely stalled. It has however stalled quite often sitting at a traffic light in neutral and on an incline when entering my garage. I had the idle adjusted to factory specs. because that was what the code ran the first time around. I had to bring it back to the same guy a second time because the CEL would still come on and he said he adjusted the idle again. The problem isn't fixed and I'm tired of shelling out money to some mechanic that doesn't know what he is doing...

My question is whether or not this could be a fuel filter problem, a fuel pump problem, or simply an idle adjustment. Another thing that has been occurring is some popping or backfiring when shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear. Could this have anything to do with the stalling, or is that a seperate problem? The car has 60K miles and has been taken care of fairly well to my knowledge.

I know that's a lot of info. but I'm guessing the more the better in order to fix the problem. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Tone
Old 12-13-2006, 06:16 PM

Any ideas?