Engine/Power - EJ25T (STI and 2006+ WRX) Discussions about the USDM 2006+ WRX and WRX STi 2.5 liter turbo flat-four.

Cobbs Short Ram Intake

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2006, 02:47 PM

Car Info: 2006 WRX TR
Unhappy Cobbs Short Ram Intake

Hello everyone,

Yes, I'm a newb and have owned my 06 WRX for about a month and a half now. I love it but I really want to bring out the whine sound from my turbo and the whoosh sound from the stock by-pass valve. I've done some research and I know this has been talked about a thousand times. I realize that there is no real HP gain from adding an aftermarket intake, as a matter of fact they supposedly harm your engine from what everyone else posts. I just want the intake strictly to hear my turbo and by-pass valve. I'm only going to go with the Cobb's intake since they state that it will not trigger a CEL because of the way it is designed to give the MAF correct air flow readings. Is there any one who has a Cobb's short ram intake that can help me out? Can you hear your turbo spooling up really loud and can you hear your by-pass valve in between shifts? Any advice truly helps.

Thanks!!!
Old 06-12-2006, 03:31 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: Broken Subarus
If you really want an intake get an OEM SPT intake. Won't effect warranty, carb cert, fits great, sounds kewl
Old 06-12-2006, 03:50 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: 08 WRX - 401whp/408wtq
I have a suggestion for you that wont cost you much... I would personally first do an Air Silencer Delete... look it up as a "Snorkelectomy" "Snorkus Delete" "Silencer Delete"... etc... There is essentially a silencer in your passenger side front fender.. notice how the intake track goes into the fender then exits? yeah its in there... It's basically a huge fu^k-0ff piece of plastic that is supposed to collect water/silence the intake & by pass sounds... You get a nice increase of sound this way, without throwing away our VERY efficient stock system...