Engine/Power - EJ20T (pre-2006 WRX and JDM) There is replacement for displacement, it is forced induction - OEM 2.0 liter turbo engines in the USDM WRX. 90-94 Legacy Turbo EJ22 turbo engines can also be discussed here.

Up-pipe and Borla Hush Catback Question

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2004, 05:15 PM

Up-pipe and Borla Hush Catback Question

I want to try keep the main cats intact for emissions purposes. What kind of gains could I expect from an up-pipe and the Hush catback. I'm new to all this and also wanted to know if the up-pipe required any work done to the engine management system. Would the up-pipe be a senseless mod without a full turboback system to go with it.
Old 09-23-2004, 05:59 PM

Car Info: 06 F4I & 04 G35 CHEHOOO
it'll be fine... maybe you should look for a dp with cat for optimal performance..
Old 09-23-2004, 08:05 PM

Car Info: 03 Wrx black sedan + 2013 BRZ
Look for about a 20 hp gain at the wheels over stock. I have a STI up-pipe and a hush cat back. Stock I was putting 173 hp to wheels and now I'm putting 191 or 193, I don't have the dyno sheet on me right now so I'm not 100% sure.

Jason
Old 09-23-2004, 09:07 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: Stage 4+ Bugeye
I also have a STi Uppipe, and borla hush catback. Well I got sick of the borla being more restrictive than my tastes so I removed the resonator and I took the 2.5 inch flange and welded together a 3" flange. It is a wonderful exhaust now. Expect resonable gains after a few resets and 3rd gear tunes.

Cheers
Rush
Old 09-23-2004, 09:10 PM

Originally Posted by WRX Rush
I also have a STi Uppipe, and borla hush catback. Well I got sick of the borla being more restrictive than my tastes so I removed the resonator and I took the 2.5 inch flange and welded together a 3" flange. It is a wonderful exhaust now. Expect resonable gains after a few resets and 3rd gear tunes.

Cheers
Rush
hey yo rush, is the hush really restrictive? also, how much is reasonable gains to you? did it get a lil louder?