Engine/Power - EJ20T (pre-2006 WRX and JDM) There is replacement for displacement, it is forced induction - OEM 2.0 liter turbo engines in the USDM WRX. 90-94 Legacy Turbo EJ22 turbo engines can also be discussed here.

Modified Exhausts in California.

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2003, 12:27 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: $200,000 sports car
Modified Exhausts in California.

There have been a lot of questions on here concerning modified exhaust systems in the state of California. I am not an employee of any state agency, a lawyer, or anything else like that. I'm an engineer with WAY too much spare time on my hands, So I spent some time researching this on the 'net. Here's some of what I found.

Concerning noise levels of modified exhausts: Click Here

Concerning aftermarket parts: Click Here

For the CVC index: Click Here (Scroll down to "Exhaust Systems" for way too much info on the subject :')

If anyone else has some good links on this issue, please post them. I think that in the interest of accuracy and legitimacy, please keep links limited to "reputable" sites such as Air Resources Board, DMV, and SEMA.
Old 06-03-2003, 04:04 PM

"27151 if they emit no more than 95 dbA when tested in accordance with Society of Automotive Engineers Standard J1169 May 1998"

Does anyone know if that is at WOT or idle?
Old 06-03-2003, 04:33 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: $200,000 sports car
Here's a link from GReddy's website. Here