Engine/Power - EJ20T (pre-2006 WRX and JDM) There is replacement for displacement, it is forced induction - OEM 2.0 liter turbo engines in the USDM WRX. 90-94 Legacy Turbo EJ22 turbo engines can also be discussed here.

Exhaust mods (possibly AccessPORT for '03 WRX)

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2006, 01:05 PM

Car Info: 03 WRX Wagon
Exhaust mods

Hey Guys,
Just some quick background: i have a 03 rex, and I'm not really into pimping my auto. If i do mod, i like genuine parts and dont really like dealing with 3rd party aftermarket stuff.
That being said, i would like to install an STi axel back, purchase a catless DP and purchase new gaskets. The borla exhaust, which i believe is a optional Subaru part, is a bit to pricy for me, and i like the look of the STi axel back. TO the point, I'm a newb with subbies and i didnt know if i needed a cobb accessport to go along with my exhaust modd.

Last edited by ILiveAgain; 04-20-2006 at 04:45 AM.
Old 04-19-2006, 01:23 PM

Car Info: 04 STi
For the 02/03's you dont NEED the AP, but it will take advantage of the bigger pipes and give you some more power. I would put in a catless uppipe first.
Old 04-19-2006, 02:20 PM

Car Info: 1998 Subaru Impreza 2.5RS
If you have a catless DP and just an axleback, you'll probably want to change your midpipe as well. That will choke the airflow from your DP making your slightly larger axleback about as useful as your stock one.

I'd recommend going for a full turboback or catless DP w/catback exhaust, preferrably with a catless uppipe as well.
Old 04-19-2006, 04:05 PM

if he just wants the dp and the sti axel back that should be ok cause the wrx and sti mid pipe are the same if im not mistaken, i have a catless dp and the sti catback on my 02 it sounds perfect, its just loud enough, but doesnt draw attention
Old 04-19-2006, 04:42 PM

Car Info: 1998 Subaru Impreza 2.5RS