Engine/Power - EJ20T (pre-2006 WRX and JDM) There is replacement for displacement, it is forced induction - OEM 2.0 liter turbo engines in the USDM WRX. 90-94 Legacy Turbo EJ22 turbo engines can also be discussed here.

Decent power with the stock downpipe?

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2009, 09:59 PM

Car Info: 2002 Subaru WRX Sedan
Question Decent power with the stock downpipe?

**Sorry for the long post, I'm a total noob***

So I'm at the point where I'm getting pretty depressed reading all the smog threads, and the LEOs in my neighborhood are already eying my car (even though I only have rims/mudflaps/light tint).

I'm curious to know if I can get some decent power out of the car while leaving the stock catalytic converters in the downpipe. I made the mistake of not planning what I wanted to do with the car before I started buying parts...

I'm mostly looking for some improved throttle response and a little more high end to the engine if I can get it. This is my daily, and my last car was stolen so I'm hoping to stay as under the radar as possible.

I'm not sure what parts I should keep. I know I'd like to get a tune from one of our Bay Area tuners, but I need to save up for an AP first. Below are the parts that I have. Any and all of these could end up on the car, or up for sale, as a result of whatever feedback I can get here.

*Stock up-pipe that's been gutted. Are there any reasons why I shouldn't use this?

*Borla header that needs some cleaning and the gasket surfaces to be leveled. It was free so I'm not at a loss on this one.

*Crucial Racing divorced wastegate shorty downpipe. I really like the look of this, but this would get rid of one of the cats and I'm not sure if I want the hassle of swapping it out every time I need to go in for smog.

Thanks!
Old 10-23-2009, 10:02 PM

Car Info: WRX STI 07
not that hard to swap out dp **** da police
Old 10-23-2009, 10:10 PM