Drivetrain Encompasses driveline components such as the torque converter, clutch, transmission, shifter, front and center differentials, driveshaft, rear differential, and axles.

Humming noise...throwout bearing???

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2004, 08:34 AM
VIP Member

Car Info: 02 Impreza WRX Sedan & 2008 GMC Sierra 4x4
Question Humming noise...throwout bearing???

I have a droning/humming noise that is happening at certain RPM's and only when I am on the throttle. It is happening from 2800 to 3800 RPMs and I can only hear it when I am on the gas...Sounds like a wheel bearing would sound like if it was going out. My buddy seems to think it could be the throwout bearing. I am not very good with Tranny/Clutch stuff so I don't know what it is. Does this sound possible to you guys and is this something that you change when you get a new clutch installed? I was thinking about getting a new clutch anyways cause It has been acting funny lately.

Thanks!

-Ryan
Old 10-19-2004, 12:00 PM
VIP Member

bump??
Old 10-22-2004, 06:27 AM

Car Info: 04 STI
Question maybe

How many miles on the car? What car is it? When you are stopped with the engine running, shifter in neutral, if you press the clutch in does the noise stop? And if you let the clutch out does it make the noise while still in neutral? Any noise at all?
Old 10-22-2004, 09:08 AM
VIP Member

Originally Posted by monsterboy
How many miles on the car? What car is it? When you are stopped with the engine running, shifter in neutral, if you press the clutch in does the noise stop? And if you let the clutch out does it make the noise while still in neutral? Any noise at all?