Drivetrain Encompasses driveline components such as the torque converter, clutch, transmission, shifter, front and center differentials, driveshaft, rear differential, and axles.

Another busted '02 WRX tranny..

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2004, 09:18 AM

Car Info: 02 Blaze Yellow WRX
Angry Another busted '02 WRX tranny..

Well I guess my time had come, 100,500 mi, one of the first WRX's to hit the street way back March '01 , blaze yellow. Driving home from work one day last week, hit the off ramp and couldn't get it out of 4th. Eventually I found a 'neutral' but the 'H' pattern was gone. Limped home and towed to the dealer and now the fun is starting. I am 36 yr old, Car is slightly modded with 3" MRT turbo back, 18" P1 wheels, big sway bars and strut bars, evething else is cosmetic. Never, 'Abused' and loved like the love of my life. Engineer by trade and race fan by choice, (I've been to 2 ALMS events this year and headed to Mosport in a couple of weeks.)
I had experienced the 'shudder' but it was never that bad, about 2 weeks ago I was getting some whining noise when the clutch was let off, throw out bearing noise would be my guess, then it went away. Until this.....not sure they are related. Not sure if I would have brought it in imeediately that anything would be different either. Hindsight is 20/20.
I got it to a local dealer who immediately starts in with the no warranty stuff. At 100K I wasn't looking for a thing. I did ask about the shudder technical bulletin, must have made him nervous.
I am doing my homework now. I can't walk away from the car yet, not ready to buy an STi and I'm waiting for better colors and more bugs to get worked out. So I guess I'll rebuild it.