Car Lounge General automotive talk not specific to Subaru.

new owner, first time poster, couple quick modification questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2006, 02:45 PM

Car Info: 2006 impreza 2.5
Question new owner, first time poster, couple quick modification questions

hello all,
This is my first time in a Subaru forum. I bought the basic model impreza, 2006. I love it. I deliver pizza as a job when not attending college classes, and I went with the subaru for tank-like longevity, and the AWD in my harsh winter climate (rochester, NY). I have a very basic understanding of the inner-workings of a car, and how they inter-relate.... definitely not educated enough to diagnose or fix problems, or do any maintenance outside of an oil change or something simple. I do have a couple quick questions regarding modifications, and am hoping somebody here will be helpful enough to answer.

1.) What's the general consensus on the mod-chips I can find on e-bay? the ones for around $30. Junk? Will they basically do nothin, or worse, is it possible they'll damage my car in the long run?

2.) if I want to install HID lighting, do I need to buy an entire kit (ballasts, wiring, etc), or is it possible to install xenon headlights directly into the headlamp? (once again, looking at the cheap xenon bulbs on ebay)

3.) Is there a high-flow intake filter, or better, a cold-air intake that is meant to be installed on the basic impreza? If so, what kind of HP gains can I expect?

Thanks to all in advance for helping me out. I definitely look forward to spending a little more time researching subarus, and gaining some general automotive information. take care,

Old 09-29-2006, 03:03 PM

Car Info: '05 Impreza Outback Sport ~ "WTF! Two-Toned?"
Lightbulb

Originally Posted by SuByNoObIe
hello all,