Car Lounge General automotive talk not specific to Subaru.

modded STi vs SS Camaro/WS6 Trans Am (was: I am a little new to Scoobies)

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2005, 07:37 PM
VIP Member

Car Info: want a WRX
I'm not familiar with f-bodies. what you can do to get an idea is look up specs/performance numbers for the STi on a car magazine website. like 5-60 time, 30-40, 40-50 times andstuff like that. it should give you an idea. altthough there are other mods to consider before gear and cams, stick around and read some stuff, you'll get a good idea of what you'll need. go to the EJ25T forum for STi performance threads.
Old 01-28-2005, 04:48 AM

Car Info: 02 Impreza WRX sedan
Keeping up? Like on a road course? No problem. The F-bodies in SS form have decent power but the chassis development has lagged a bit. Of course, that's moot now since the F-body is out of production.

Power mods for both the Mitsubishi Evolution and the STi usually consist of things like engine management with dyno tuning, turbo back exhaust system, a larger turbo and the necessary injectors and fuel pump, cams for some owners, but gearing isn't one of the things that is usually changed for a street-driven car.