How/where to get your torque wrench calibrated

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2011, 10:22 AM

Car Info: 2011 WRX hatch gray
How/where to get your torque wrench calibrated

No juvenile jokes.

What the title is asking...

And price range?

Last edited by chimchimm5; 03-08-2011 at 02:35 PM.
Old 03-08-2011, 10:32 AM

Car Info: 07 rs STi swapped Rotated BW S200SX-56
I use to work at genentech, we had a tester in there that would tell you if the torque wrench was accurate. We had to send those units out for certification annually. I'm an instrument tech and calibrate all kinds of different things. Sometimes we have to send out equipment for calibrations that we don't have a standard for, usually it's not cheap, especially when you add shipping. If there is nothing more local, try teamtorque.com they offer nist cert if needed.
Old 03-08-2011, 10:38 AM

Car Info: wrx wagon/2.5rs
local tool distributor can send it in..I send my snap-on torque wrench in every 6-8 months. only down side would be if you dont have a spare one.
Old 03-08-2011, 11:19 AM
iClub Silver Vendor

Car Info: 2005 LGT wagon
Micro Precision Calibration Inc.
Old 03-08-2011, 11:44 AM
iClub Silver Vendor

Car Info: A Laptop
Snap-On takes care of our calibration.

-- Ed
Old 03-08-2011, 12:06 PM

Car Info: 04 psm wrx sedan
No juvenile jokes? I thought for a while and couldn't think of anything that could be jokingly said about calibration...

Anyways, lzykid, you said every 6-8 months? Do they de/un -calibrate that often? And by how much? We talkin a few lbs or like 10+? And how long is the down time to get recalibrated?
Old 03-08-2011, 12:35 PM
iClub Silver Vendor

Car Info: 2005 LGT wagon
Originally Posted by slugrx
No juvenile jokes? I thought for a while and couldn't think of anything that could be jokingly said about calibration...