Help me tune my EQ & Crossover values

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2006, 11:48 AM

Car Info: 2009 A3 2.0T quattro
Help me tune my EQ & Crossover values

I've got pretty much all the components of my sounds system in the suby now, but I am no audio expert, and am having a hell of a time tuning the EQ and cross over, and gain values for the speakers, HU, and sub/amp to sound good.

So, my proposal is this: I will meet you/you come to my place in the City and bring either your favorite (reasonably priced) wine, or a few 6's of your favorite beers, or $30, and you will spend 20-30 minutes tuning the gains, EQs, crossover points so that it doesn't sound like the stereo in a 30 year old pinto.

My equipment:

Kenwood 6017 DVD HU
KNA-G510 navigation unit
KCA-IP500 iPod interface unit
Kenwood 300w subwoofer amp attached to 1 VC of a JL 10" DVC sub in a custom box.
Stock speakers.

Whose up for it?

--Matt
Old 05-30-2006, 12:34 PM
03.23.67 - 06.14.13

come by...

i got all sorts of test CDs and an SPL meter to tune that bottom end...

and of you know the EQ points of your EQ, you can make a custom CD with white noise of just those freqs and with a an SPL meter, you can fake an RTA meter...
Old 05-30-2006, 01:29 PM

Car Info: 05 WRX Wagon and 08 Civic Si
the stock door speakers is whats making it sound like a old pinto radio
if your going to upgrade you need to do it all
Old 05-30-2006, 01:51 PM
03.23.67 - 06.14.13

Originally Posted by WREXNFX
the stock door speakers is whats making it sound like a old pinto radio
if your going to upgrade you need to do it all

wow...

didnt even catch that...

yeah... ditto that.

for another $50-100 for a "nice" set of front speakers and another $100-150 for a "decent" amp, you would have a killer setup...
Old 05-30-2006, 01:55 PM

Car Info: 2006 evo IX
Yeah, I ditched my sub and picked up some polk db6500 components for the front driven by a kicker amp
Old 05-30-2006, 03:02 PM

Car Info: '09 accord, '14 2 seater chevy