Help me decide on a new single speed/ fixie...

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2010, 11:37 AM

Car Info: 2007 WRX WAGON ...WFC #109...
Help me decide on a new single speed/ fixie...

Hey what's up everyone...i know that some of you guys ride road bikes and i need some help.. I have been working at my new job for a few months now at the sports basement in walnut creek and they are offering a great discount for employees on everything so i would like to take an advantage of that and get into my first single speed/fixie... i just need some help deciding on what is worth getting.. i want to build a bike that's not too expensive but at the same time not too cheap because they are offering 40% off anything i need..

The brands we carry are:

Bike:Felt , Fuji, SE, Cannondale, Jamis, KHS..
Wheels: Velocity, Mavic..

I'm not sure if it would be easier to just buy a complete bike or to just piece it together...

Thanks for the help everyone!
Old 02-02-2010, 11:44 AM

Car Info: 2002 WRX
I'm going to try not to judge you for saying you want a fixed gear bike.

Buying a complete bike is easier but piecing one together is a fun experience. My college bike is a used Huffy. I replaced both front and rear clusters, derailleur, wheels, crank arm and shifters. It rides well and while its on the heavy side no one ever pays it any attention unless they really have an eye for components.
Old 02-02-2010, 11:48 AM

Car Info: 2002 sedan sti swap high on meth
find a old *** road frame and fork in a dumpster somewhere, build some wheels, find a old road handlebar and stem throw a chain, cog, crankset, and tires on...you got your self a single speed/fixed gear/track bike
Old 02-02-2010, 11:50 AM

Car Info: '14 Odyssey & '13 Prius
Originally Posted by blkwagon
find a old *** road frame and fork in a dumpster somewhere, build some wheels, find a old road handlebar and stem throw a chain, cog, crankset, and tires on...you got your self a single speed/fixed gear/track bike
What he said!