Head Unit Install [Stereo]

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2009, 10:23 PM

Head Unit Install [Stereo]

Ok, so I'm debating on whether to purchase a fellow member's used head unit. I have a 2003 WRX Wagon with stock stereo equipment, i.e. stock speakers, stock 6 cd in-dash double din unit. I am not an audiophile. I mainly want to upgrade head units so that I can connect my iPod without using the tape deck connector thing. In addition to the actual head unit, I was planning on getting a wiring harness (Metra 70-8901) and a single-DIN pocket (Metra 88009000) - looking at about $25-$30 for both the wiring harness and din pocket.

So my question is in regards to installation. While I'm fairly comfortable installing mechanical things, i.e. suspension, exhaust/turbo stuff, brakes, etc., I am a total newbie when it comes to electronics/wiring. I did manage to install my Blitz turbo timer/boost gauge (using those wire crimp/clip connector things), but I am not comfortable soldering anything. How difficult is it to attach the wiring harness to the head unit itself? Are the wires color-coded? I hear that soldering/shrink tube is the best way, but there is no way I'd be able to do that. From what I can see, it seems that there might not be enough space to crimp-clip all of the wires (I think there are about 16 of them in total)? How hard is it to remove/install the actual head unit/din pocket? I wouldn't even know where to start to begin to take apart the center console.

I looked at the Best Buy website, and saw that they charge $50 for a head unit install. Is that a fair price? Do they solder/shrink tube the wires or do they simply crimp using those twisty things? Would they provide a wiring harness with their price or would I still need to supply it? Do other local shops charge less? Does anyone have some experience with this and be willing to do this for me for a small fee?

Thanks guys.
________
LESBIAN EROTIC

Last edited by kyoung05; 03-30-2011 at 10:37 AM.