Is a college degree overrated?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2009, 08:11 PM

Car Info: 2003 Ford Focus ZX3
Is a college degree overrated?

I'm an undergraduate at UCLA. While it's certainly a fine institution, I commonly feel like my time, money, and effort could be better provisioned. I just have this sinking feeling that my life is actually being marginalized by a system that ostensibly serves to prevent just that. When I graduate, the meager salary I'm offered (assuming I can even find a job) very likely will not justify the paralyzing debt I will have amassed. Several years of my life will have passed and, even with my impressive "education," I'll still be struggling to breathe (maybe even struggling harder).

For those who have a college degree, has it proved to be worth every penny and second of your life you threw at it?

For those who don't have a college degree, is life generally bearable (maybe even wonderful), or do you oftentimes wish you had gone the college route?
Old 06-03-2009, 08:22 PM
iClub Silver Vendor

Car Info: 2005 LGT wagon
What is your degree in?

I wish I would've stuck with History instead of Mech Engineering....
Old 06-03-2009, 08:24 PM

Car Info: 2016 WRX, 2014 lifter forester XT, 2005 JDM207 WGN
NO, It's really worth it!
Old 06-03-2009, 08:28 PM

Car Info: 2005 Forester X
A college degree into a feild that is over populated isn't going to get you much! If you were to get a college degree in a feild that is constantly being used you'll find that it's pay off is great
Don't get a cookie cut degree, doing physc, business, communications is pointless.. you'll end up not using it and you'll have nothing to show for it.
I have an AA and I've been in and out of college since because I can't pick a career I can see myself doing for long enough to get something out of it.
my 0.02 = get a degree in a specific feild you can work in to rep the benefits of your schooling.
Old 06-03-2009, 08:30 PM
03.23.67 - 06.14.13