Cell Phone Guys

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2009, 10:06 PM

Car Info: http://kiva.org/invitedby/brett4254
Cell Phone Guys

I know there are a few cell-phone guys on here.

Verizon has really pissed me off with their unwillingness to help me with the crappy Samsung Glyde they sold me; I'm considering changing companies.
I need a smartphone, but am not willing to put up with a Blackberry. Big priorites:

I need a phone with good sound quality. After years of being a professional musician my hearing is not great. My constant problem with all phones is that I have trouble hearing conversations clearly.

I need a good network. The main reason I've used Verizon for all of these years is that the network is awesome.

I would like GPS/mapping capabilites. This is something the Glyde is good at.

The phone needs to be tough. I wear on the belt all day and am in/out of trucks often.

Here's what I know
I-phone: these are cool, but I don't like that they are touch screen only. The lack of pic messaging is annoying to me. They seem to be the standard right now, so I don't doubt the I phone will be supported for years to come. Please seem to genuinely hate the AT&T network

Blackberry
I hear the actual phone on these sucks, but features are good.

LG EnV Touch
Cnet really likes this phone... it looks lie the screen is kinda small.

So - what to go with?
the only cell company I won't deal with is Nexel
Old 07-16-2009, 10:24 PM
rau
Something Custom

Car Info: 2018 Grand Cherokee Limited Ecodiesel EOC Stage 1
sounds like you need a G1. I got a friend that works at T-mo that can probably hook you up.
Old 07-16-2009, 10:57 PM

Car Info: '14 Cayman
is price an issue? you might want to start off with the network you want, and then look into the phones they offer. whats the point of an awesome phone with crappy service?
Old 07-16-2009, 11:00 PM

Car Info: 2015 WRX Limited