best tuners in the Bay Area?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2005, 10:56 AM

Car Info: 2005 WRX STI
I'm a newbie '05 STI owner. Can anyone recommend best tuners in Bay area, and what mods have the most bang for the buck? Thinking of reflashiong the ECU and installing turbo back exhaust and short shifter first.
Old 08-18-2005, 01:55 AM

Car Info: 02 Impreza WRX sedan
Moved your post to BAIC (Bay Area i-Club) forum since it was region-specific.

Some local tuners in the Reviews section. There are more tuners but none of their customers has seen fit to post reviews of their experiences where members can easily find them.

--
0==WW==0
"…axles of evil…" - george w. bush
Old 08-18-2005, 02:07 AM

Car Info: '03 WRX wagon, faster than walkin'
Seriously consider Mike (white English guy) from Gruppe-s. He is an excellent tuner, I have made more smooth usable power with his assistance than anyone else. My '03 wagon has over 320 ft-lbs of torque (on the heartbreaking Mustang dyno) - who else has that on CA-91?

He also uses a "heartbreaker" Mustang dyno, which I like because my car will never read lower than that.

The guys at his shop are cool too, Dev and Mike (Asian guy) are the mechanics and do good work.

These guys stand up for their work and really rock.

The other side of the Gruppe-s house is parts and all the guys on sales are outstanding and do their very best to ensure you get the parts you need. This includes the hard to find stuff like STi engines and RA gearsets. These guys are both helpful and knowledgeable - two thumbs up.

Another thing to consider is the two guys making the super STi cars are MarkSTi and Derrick - both using Gruppe-s to meet their goals.

These guys are knowledgeable and fair and I can't recommend them highly enough.

Last edited by AntiochCali; 08-18-2005 at 02:11 AM.
Old 08-18-2005, 02:21 AM

Car Info: 02 Impreza WRX sedan
Origami posted by AntiochCali
Seriously consider Mike (white English guy) from Gruppe-s.